Jeff's online journal, ramblings, whatever.

Random 5th grade stuff

Hello again. It’s been exactly 7 months and 3 days. Dustin is long gone. Dan (now Daniel) is out of the hospital and came to the last week of school. I discovered that I don’t like Mrs. Mackay. I’m glad I’m out of 5th grade! Dad is sicker than a dog. Um, Um, oh yeah. He has AIDS and now he has phneumonia! Help! In church yesterday I told my class that Dad was sick, and (I’ll write the rest tomorrow….Tomorrow is here!) Riley guessed he had AIDS! No one is supposed to know that!!!! I’ve been reading a bunch of Calvin and Hobbes books, and I think that somebody to cuddle up with is important. I also have been taking Self-Esteem classes, and I love them. This is the last week, and I would like them to go on. I have a stuffed bear named Butter S. Tape, and we kythe to each other. Right now I am trying to get a fly out of my room. I started a new subject in Prodigy called Mario Mania and two people have written already! Next testimony meeting I am going to bear my testimony, and it’s going to be long! Well, I’m sorry, but I gotta go. It’s 10:56 PM. Bye-bye.

One response

  1. Ah, the first note that my Dad was sick. A (very brief) backstory on this issue. My Dad, well, buttered his bread on the wrong side of the slice, if you know what I mean. He tried to overcome his leanings and married my Mom and had four kids. But when my Mom was pregnant with me he revealed the way he felt to her and said that he had to sort out that part of his life. Well, “sorting out” evidently meant going to Denver on a “business” trip and, as a result, catching AIDS. This was in 1983, when people barely even knew what AIDS was and there was a lot of misinformation out there. When my mom found out she didn’t want anyone else to know, and we kids didn’t even know until I was in 5th grade, probably only a few short months before this entry was made. Before that we just knew he had “a blood problem,” which is why he was pretty sickly most of the time I was growing up. This is the summer he had pneumonia, which also was the summer that our house in West Valley flooded, and the year we moved to Riverton. 1993: quite eventful in the disaster arena.

    January 6, 2007 at 10:58 am

Leave a Reply

