Jeff's online journal, ramblings, whatever.

7th grade

Did I really write that last entry? Blechh. Cough Cough. Anyway, I’m in 7th grade now. 8 pages spanned 2 almost 3 years! Rachel, my cousin, is going to have her baby tonight! That’s great! If it’s a boy, I hope it’s named Larry. I had scouts tonight, & we played with a hacky sack, a football, & a basketball. I’m in jazz band and I play the keyboard bass. We’re playing songs like Opus One, Swingin’ Easy, T.W.A., Knight’s Court, Blue Bones, This Little Light of Mine, & the Third Bass Blues, where we get to improvize. I have Landeen, McKilligan, Hales. . .wait a minute, I mean Thomson, Howell, Rea, Hendricks, and Ferrin for teachers at school. I don’t like Oquirrh Middle that much. It sucks. But I have some new friends, namely Tabitha Wallace, Layne Lowder, Adam Wayman, Bobby Whatshisname, etc. I love Muppets. I called KSL Channel 5 in order for them to put on the Muppets Take Manhattan. Well, gotta go. Bye. See ya.

P.S. Dustin is long gone. Daniel & I keep in touch through Ben.

One response

  1. The only good thing that I got out of Oquirrh Hills Middle School came from Jazz Band. A lot of my early improvising and jazz knowledge comes from the time I spent with Mrs. McKilligan, who was probably one of the best junior high jazz teachers in the state. We went to competitions with high school jazz bands and often ended up getting a lion’s share of the awards. I never got one, of course, but that was due to the fact that we didn’t have a bass player, so my job was to play the bass part on a keyboard, so I couldn’t really be judged the same way as the rest of the bass players in other bands. At least that’s my story, and I’m stickin’ to it! Other than that, 7th grade was pretty bad. By the end, I didn’t really have any friends again, a cause I certainly didn’t help with my behavior. I was often rude, belligerent, and quite bossy. I did a project in one of my classes with Adam Wayman (no relation to Casey), and when he did one part wrong I yelled at him in front of the class. Not a good way to endear yourself to your classmates, I would think.

    January 6, 2007 at 11:16 am

Leave a Reply

