Jeff's online journal, ramblings, whatever.

You are Now Entering StarLab

12:50 PM: Hello. I am now in the pilot’s seat of the cockpit, the one that doesn’t have Omega Race. Right now we are en route to Jupiter, after leaving the space station Epsilon, halfway from Venus. The girls followed our same flight plan, but got off course and ended up in Andromeda space, where They found themselves with Andromedan eggs. Hold on, the new schedule’s coming up. . .
1:40 PM: Aw, Shoot. The ship that attacked us earlier this morning has returned for some reason. I am trying to get the hyperdrive coils online. In the meantime let’s hope our cloaking device plasma coils hold out.
2:04 PM: I can hardly see anything. We are supposed to meet Jupiter Base Control in 6 minutes but the shields and cloak have failed. We have no life support or oxygen, and this darn flashing blue light makes it hard to see anything. And I just want to smash the alarm siren into a billion pieces. I’m not sure if. . .
2:22 PM: Phew! The other ship hit an asteroid and blew up!

One response

  1. I was the “chief engineer” of StarLab. Which basically meant I had to stay in the back room while all of the important officers were in the front cockpit dealing with problems. During this particular crisis I kept trying to sneak up to the front to know what was going on, but the other kids kept telling me to go man my post. My “post” was standing next to the “engineering” console, which consisted of a board with a lot of LEDs and switches and stuff, each labeled to correspond to a different “ship system.” The people in mission control could flip any of these on and off to simulate failure of a certain ship component, at which point my job was to report to the captain that “The Hyperdrive coils are offline!” or whatever. It was actually pretty boring, which is why I found time during the crisis to write in my journal. At one point I started flipping key components of our ship on and off, just to see if anything would happen (or mission control would notice). Nobody did. I think for a large part of the voyage we were flying around without engines. Still, the inconsequentiality of my role notwithstanding, I did have a lot of fun, and I would have done it again (and gotten a better job) if I would’ve stayed at Midvale. Alas, it was not to be.

    January 6, 2007 at 11:56 am

Leave a Reply

