Jeff's online journal, ramblings, whatever.

Mr. Holland, and his Opus

Wow. 12 1995 pages. I wonder how many there’ll be in ’96! Guess what?* I never realized exactly how close the procedures in that styrofoam rig people call StarLab are to real space flight until tonight, when I saw Apollo 13. That’s a great movie. It made me realize how fun simulators can be, but how much I DON’T want to be an astronaut, astronomer, or even associate with space. It’s ironic that I have gotten my Astronomy merit badge when I should be getting my Music merit badge. There’s a movie for that, too, called Mr. Holland’s Opus. Now there’s a cool movie. It made me realize that that’s what I want to do with my life. Teach & write music. Whammo. Complete appeal. The movie is about this music guy (Mr. Holland) who’s writing an opus. To get some money, he takes a job at John F. Kennedy High School as the music teacher in 1965. He helps many students achieve in music, while giving birth to a son who, ironically, happens to be dead. It’s a grrrrrreat movie! You have to see it. It’s just neat-o. Gotta go. Bye-bye.

Music ship

*Count how many times I say this in the whole journal.

2 responses

  1. I still like Mr. Holland’s Opus, even though it was panned by a lot of critics. Being highly involved in public school music at the time, and having a mother who was a public school music teacher, I could easily relate to most of the things portrayed in the movie. I haven’t seen it for a long time, but I’d like to again, just to see if my opinion would change.

    January 6, 2007 at 12:03 pm

  2. I love how he gives birth to a son who, ironically, happens to be… DEAD. Ah, kids.

    April 13, 2008 at 12:46 pm

Leave a Reply

