Jeff's online journal, ramblings, whatever.

Second fiddler

Well, Amber Wulle (from Dec. 16, 1992) now despises Hunter High. She wrote an editorial in the Salt Lake Tribune about a week ago about how she thinks schools on the “west side” are inferior academically, so she’s going to Cottonwood High School instead. “Ppppttth,” I say.

You know what? Of course not, you’re a journal. Well, I’ll tell you. I play second fiddle (not literally). In most of my friends’ lives, I am the second best. Every single friend I have, boy or girl, with the possible exception of Nate Winder, has someone that They would rather be with or talk to other than me. I think it’s because I am so protective of things I hold dear. I rarely give out compliments, because I feel that They should mean more to the recipient. If someone tells everyone that they’re great, then soon people think that they’re just saying it to everyone and it loses its meaning. If, on the other hand, someone receives a compliment from a guy who rarely compliments anyone, then They might think, “Wow! If HE thinks I’m great, I must really BE pretty gosh darn good!” Maybe I’m just being stupid, but it’s the way I feel. Well, gotta go. Bye.

P.S. I’m not going to Senior Ball, ’cause nobody asked me! It’s girls’ choice.

One response

  1. Amber

    I remember that… I recall my point being that there were 2-3 times the AP and concurrent enrollment classes in East side schools than there were in West side schools. Different opportunities based on which side of town you go to school in… and eventually, different scholarships. National Merit had many more East side schools represented by finalists than West side the year I was involved. I don’t recall more than a couple people from West end schools, but there were 3-4 from each of the East end schools. And I still think it goes back to the educational programs being offered and I still think something is wrong with the way the programs are divided.

    July 30, 2008 at 8:31 pm

Leave a Reply

