Jeff's online journal, ramblings, whatever.

Krit Coincidence

Just thought you’d like to know that apparently my middle name, Krit, is in fact the name of a character from Deep Space Nine. He’s some alien who was an associate of Morn, the parody of Norm from Cheers that’s always sitting at Quark’s bar.

It’s interesting the random places that this name pops up. In addition to the K-R-I-T- Motor Car Company, for which my grandfather (and subsequently myself, my uncle, and my cousin) was named, “Krititas” is a type of cracker in Spain that is basically a smaller Ritz-type of cracker. I also found the word spray-painted on random cement walls in Spain, although I didn’t know what it was referring to in that case (doubtful it was the crackers).

There are more if you look up “Krit” on Google or Wikipedia or something, but so far these have been the references I’ve run into randomly.

5 responses

  1. Sunday, 10 December 2006 – 3:48 PM MST
    Name: Uffish

    Interesting middle name–I’ve never seen it before. Where did your parents get it from? Deep Space Nine, or something else?

    And hey, I dropped by your blog, wondering if the red-headed kid from SkyBluePink’s blog was the only red-headed kid I know she knows. Turns out the answer was “Yes.” So thanks for letting me improv with you kids on Wednesday. It was worlds of fun. (I feel like a gunslinger!)

    January 3, 2007 at 7:19 pm

  2. Sunday, 10 December 2006 – 4:10 PM MST
    Name: Jeffery Krit Parkes

    ‘Twould be hard for my parents to name me after something from Deep Space Nine, since that show premiered in 1993 (and the episode with that particular alien aired in 1998) and I was born in 1982. Nah, as I noted in the entry, my middle name comes from my maternal grandfather’s middle name. His name comes from the K-R-I-T motor car company, which was a short-lived car company in the early 1900’s. My great-grandfather was a K-R-I-T retailer in Salt Lake City. I don’t know why he named his son after the type of car he sold, but at least I’m not “Jeffery Oldsmobile Parkes” or something like that.

    January 3, 2007 at 7:19 pm

  3. Monday, 11 December 2006 – 1:18 AM MST
    Name: Uffish

    Ah, right. Somehow my brain skipped that part about your family being named after the cars. I claim ignorance on the Deep Space Nine front, though. Television was not a big part of my growing-up years. Bill Nye was about the most intense my family got.

    But still, sweet middle name.

    January 3, 2007 at 7:20 pm

  4. Hey look, super old post I’m commenting on. So I remember when I’d google my name this was the only thing that would come up besides me and I thought it was awesome. Then Big K.R.I.T. came along and ruined my google ranking.

    November 12, 2015 at 1:37 pm

  5. Yet another thing that rap has ruined!

    November 12, 2015 at 8:12 pm

Leave a Reply

