Jeff's online journal, ramblings, whatever.

Virtual life, virtual pics

I still play The Sims 2 every so often. Much more time-consciously, of course; I’m not losing sleep and/or work over it like I was back in the day. For starters, after a while it starts becoming horribly formulaic and you end up doing weird things to your sims or downloading a ton of custom ones, like famous people or TV personalities or whatever, just to keep things interesting. And I must admit, it is kind of fun watching Aragorn (son of Arathorn, of course) have a water balloon fight with Guybrush Threepwood, while Wario and Lex Luthor are in the back becoming fast friends. And to have an avatar of your roommate in a romantic relationship with the daughter of your own avatar. (Not any of the ones from last time; that neighborhood got deleted. Yep, in this day and age it is possible to just delete your family. Well, virtual family.)

Actually, while I’m on the subject, I might as well share some random Sims screencaps, just so you can see what the foo goes on.

Wario

Like I said, Lex Luthor and Wario. . .they’ve got some evil plans, I’m sure.

Now for some shots of my avatar playing games with people.

Chess with Spock

Chess with Spock. Seems logical.

Chess with Picard

Chess with the next generation, of course.

Poker with LOTR

The real reason the Fellowship of the Ring broke up? Boromir and Legolas both owed me some gambling debts. And, apparently, we’re discussing kissing.

Poker with the beast

Speaking of poker, here’s a shot of my “daughter,” Lindsay, playing poker with a vampire, a zombie Homer Simpson (you can tell due to the bluish tint of his skin, especially the hands), and the Beast. I mean, what the foo?

Bowling with the kids

Speaking of my “daughters,” here’s when I took two of them out bowling. My “wife” and I ended up having eleven kids, since “we” both possessed the “family” aspiration, and one of our wants was to have ten kids. We had eleven because the last two were twins. The first two children were also twins: these ones here, named Katie and Tatiana (like last time). All of the girls were named after girls I either went on dates with, had crushes on, or just names I thought were cool. For example, I don’t know anyone named Tatiana outside of Spain, and I certainly didn’t date or have crushes on any of the ones I met in Spain. Still a cool name, though.

College Jam 1

When “I” was in college, I formed a rock trio with my future “wife” (again named “Jennifer”), and, of course, Jake Sisko. I mean, why not?

College Jam 2

My “kids” did the same thing when they made it to college (these being “my” three oldest: Katie, Tatiana, and Joel, complete with Gizmonics uniform). Their guitar player, apparently, was a llama.

Pipe Dream

And this pic? Either a pipe dream or a goal to shoot for, depending on your viewpoint.

And although my old family got deleted, I still have some older screencaps, so here is the “old” Jennifer, from back more than a year ago now:

Old Jennifer

I actually like the old one better, although the new one’s much better customized and stuff. She just seems more down-to-earth. Oh, well.

Lest you think I have no life and spend all my time playing “The Sims 2,” these pics were all taken over the course of months, not in some three-week long binge.

Anyway, I had a more poignant point to this whole thing, but I forgot it while searching for this stuff. So I’m sorry that you missed some of my brilliant philosophical musings, and enjoy the ludicrousness of these pics!

2 responses

  1. Hey, did you make the Wario for Sims 2? If not, did you download it from someplace? May I download it if it’s something you did yourself?

    December 29, 2008 at 8:43 pm

  2. I believe I found Wario on the Exchange at thesims2.com, although it was a while back, so I don’t really remember. Searching for Wario on the Exchange comes up with a Sim with the same outfit, although the face is different. I guess it’s a place to start, though.

    December 29, 2008 at 9:06 pm

Leave a Reply

