Jeff's online journal, ramblings, whatever.

Mario Jones, Where Are You?

Mario Paint - Mr. Jones

Another in the feature “Jeff’s search for a cheap music-writing program for use after college;” we see here that Jeff is reduced to writing a song using both the most useless and most awesome songwriting program ever devised: Mario Paint!

If you recognize the song, it’s because it’s my (in)famous “Mr. Jones, Where Are You?” song I wrote a while back. If you haven’t heard it, you can find it on my Soundclick page, found in my links on the right side of this blog. Sadly,with the limitations of three sounds at a time, plus the ability to only do 24 measures (about three lines of the first verse), I couldn’t recreate the whole thing, but oh well.

What do you think? Should I scrap my plans to buy a program for hundreds of dollars, and turn songs in to my clients featuring cats, dogs, burpy-baby sounds, and Yoshi noises?

6 responses

  1. Oh my goodness, that is AWESOME! I especially love the random meows! I think all music should be written using mario paint! You’re onto something Jeff, you’re really onto something!

    December 6, 2008 at 12:44 am

  2. Haley

    Well, it’s catchy enough to now be stuck in my roommate’s head, so that’s a good sign.

    December 6, 2008 at 4:26 pm

  3. This is so incredibly entertaining (in a good way). I wish I’d found it sooner.

    You know, I think I may have heard the debut of your Mr. Jones song. Was it at a presentation for a song-writing class at the Y back in, say, 2004ish? I was dating someone at the time who was involved in that production. No wonder you seemed familiar–not because someone else could possibly achieve your adept uniqueness, but because I’d spotted you in the past.

    As for your prior post, about “the list”: it’s a classic, as is your friend’s comment. Uproariously good reading, it is. I’ve blogged to excessive lengths about that subject, so there’s no telling how uncomfortable that could make a potential relationship. It may even make them despair of “measuring up” as much as I already despair of finding “her”! 😉 Maybe I’m avoiding relationships entirely so there won’t be all that awkwardness about ideal vs. real. I think your list is most plausible and grounded.

    Thanks for setting me to thinking (in a good-natured way).

    December 8, 2008 at 5:16 pm

  4. Hey, thanks! It was Dec. 2005, actually, but the main point is that it was years ago, and yes, it was written for the songwriting class showcase. Out of curiosity: which song did was your then-girlfriend involved with? I’ve got a copy of them all from that performance, and I’s just wonderin’.

    Ah, that list, the one post I’ve made over the years that has come back to haunt me more than any other. On one hand, it’s an easy answer to “So what do you look for in girls, anyway?” but on the other hand you’ve gotta justify or clarify certain things on there. I tried to make it fair, especially with the two sections, but over the years I’ve come to the conclusion that I have no idea how girls think. I do believe that you can’t really pigeonhole that, though, ’cause half the times I’ve heard a girl tell me what all girls think, later a different girl tells me the exact opposite, so what the hey, I give up, come to _me_, ladies, if you’re interested! (That doesn’t work, by the way.) In any case, if some girls think I should get rid of that list, then other girls will think it’s not a bad idea at all. So I’d just try to please myself, but Mom won’t let me move to Madagascar.

    Good luck with the ladies, though; I’ve got no advice for you! Except in the BC they seem to be mostly 18 years old, so get out while you can! I’m moving come April!

    December 8, 2008 at 8:13 pm

  5. This inspired me to see what other You Tube Mario Paint things I could find. This is my favorite:

    It is longer than a few bars, though. Perhaps you can find a better emulator.

    December 11, 2008 at 10:27 pm

  6. To be fair, a lot of those Youtube videos are from “Mario Paint Composer,” which is a freeware Windows program and not the actual Super Nintendo Mario Paint, so they can go for much longer and play four notes at a time. But they’re not vintage, man!

    December 12, 2008 at 12:53 am

Leave a Reply

