Jeff's online journal, ramblings, whatever.

Myers-Briggs Personality Test

Took two different versions of this test, with two interesting outcomes. One said I was ISTP (Introverted, Sensing, Thinking, Perception), while the other said I was ISFP (the same, but Feeling instead of Thinking), but only with a slight preference for Feeling and a moderate preference for the other traits. According to the Myers-Briggs website, the two types go down like this:

ISTP
Tolerant and flexible, quiet observers until a problem appears, then act quickly to find workable solutions. Analyze what makes things work and readily get through large amounts of data to isolate the core of practical problems. Interested in cause and effect, organize facts using logical principles, value efficiency.

Famous ISTP:

Michael Jordan

Michael Jordan

ISFP
Quiet, friendly, sensitive, and kind. Enjoy the present moment, what’s going on around them. Like to have their own space and to work within their own time frame. Loyal and committed to their values and to people who are important to them. Dislike disagreements and conflicts, do not force their opinions or values on others.

Famous ISFP:

Frederic Chopin

Frederic Chopin

And hey, I’m actually both of these, depending on the situation and what mood I’m in. I’d analyze this further, but right now I’m in more of an ISFP mood, and don’t want to force my opinions or values on others. Maybe later I’ll be in an ISTP mood and will analyze what makes this work and readily get through large amounts of data to isolate the core of the practical problem. You know, I’ll be interested in cause and effect, yadda yadda yadda. Also, I want to go to bed.

EDIT: According to another website, an ISTP is known as “The Mechanic,” while the ISFP is known as “The Artist.” Fitting since my strengths lie in tech theatre and computer-assisted music composition. One thing’s for sure: I’m definitely an introvert, as evidenced by all these blog posts trying to figure out who I am and what my role is in life.

4 responses

  1. Marné

    I’ve found I have similar results when taking the Myers-Briggs tests. It depends on my mood, the test, and how I see myself at the time. On the last one I took, I found myself quite often looking at questions and saying, “Well, I act/think in this manner most of the time, but not always.” I guess it comes down to the fact that no matter how much we as the human race try to classify things, the one thing we can never fully analyze is ourselves.

    August 16, 2009 at 2:44 pm

  2. You may find it interesting to check out Chopin’s handwriting for some added insights into his personality. You can see quite clearly how Chopin’s music and Passion are mirrored in his Handwriting. There’s a handwriting sample and explanation at Graphology World http://ow.ly/2sl3d

    August 20, 2010 at 5:46 am

  3. Just took this test. I’m an IFNJ. Like Carrie Fisher and Luke Skywalker.

    http://www.mypersonality.info/personality-types/infj/

    December 20, 2011 at 11:10 pm

  4. Nadia MDG

    hi. i’m an INTJ, quite the opposite of you and Chopin, my favourite composer

    April 22, 2012 at 12:01 pm

Leave a Reply

